Return to Administration
This function helps you combine two external user records when a duplicate record was created. When you click on the Save Merge icon, all objects associated with the user to be merged (for example, requests, attachments, assets, and so on) will be merged with the record of the main user.
When you click on the Save icon, the user to be merged will no longer exist in the ServicePRO database.
NOTE: Only external users may be merged, not internal users (this includes Support Reps)
- From the Administration tab, click on the Merge Users link. The Merge Users window will appear.
- Click on the Company Name drop-down list to select the company that associated with the users you wish to merge.
- Enter search criteria in the Define Criteria section.
- Double-click the company you want to select or highlight it and click the Select Company icon. The Merge Users window returns.
- Click on the Main User drop-down list and click on Find User…
- Enter the search criteria in the Define Criteria section (if needed) to find the user you want to retain.
- Double-click on the user you want to keep in ServicePRO. The Merge Users window returns.
- Click on the User to be Merged drop-down list and click on Find User…
- Enter search criteria in the Define Criteria section (if needed) to find the user whose record you want to merge with the main user.
- Double-click on the user you want to merge (then removed from the system). The Merge Users window returns. At this point, both fields should be populated similar to the illustration shown below.
- Before saving, ensure that the Main User field shows the user you want to retain, and that the User to be Merged field shows the user who will be removed.
- A confirmation pop-up window appears informing you that “The users were merged successfully.”
When you click on the Save icon, the user to be merged will be moved to the De-activated Users section. Click on the Save icon when you are certain the two users selected are the ones to be merged. Also ensure that the Main User field is populated with the User that remains in the database.
Trace Memos will be added to Service Requests to indicate when the Requester has been merged into another user.
- E.g. “User A” is the Requester of a Request
- “User B” is a separate user
- “User A” is merged into “User B”, leaving only User B
- All of User A’s requests now belong to User B
- Trace Memos will be added to all of User A’s requests, indicating a merge action was performed on the user.
- Please note that User B (the base user’s) requests are unaffected – these traces will only be applicable to the original requester who was merged into another User A’s requests.